Thursday, 1 January 2015

Chittagong Division

                                    Chittagong Division History  
Chittagong Division (Bengali: চট্টগ্রাম) is geographically the largest of the seven administrative divisions of Bangladesh. It covers the south-easternmost areas of the country, with a total area of 33,771.18 km2 (13,039.13 sq mi).
The precursor to the modern-day division was an administrative unit of British India. The Chittagong Division of the Bengal Presidency, with its capital in the port city of Chittagong, comprised the present-day districts of southeastern Bangladesh and the princely state of Hill Tippera.

Chittagong division is subdivided into 11 districts (zilas) and thence into 99 sub-districts (upazilas). The two portions being separated by the lower (or Bangladeshi) stretch of the Feni River; the upland districts of Khagrachhari, Rangamati and Bandarban together comprise that area previously known as the Chittagong Hill Tracts. Before 1995, the six districts of Sylhet Division were also a part of Chittagong Division.

 District Name 
 Area (Km)
 Feni Sadar
 Lakshmipur District
 Cox's Bazar District
 Cox's Bazar
 Khagrachhari District
 Comilla District
 Bandarban District
 Chittagong District
Rangamati District 
 Chandpur District
 Brahmanbaria District
 Under Division -11 District 

Auto Scroll Stop Scroll